Istanbul Filming Locations: Topkapi (1964)

   

History has taught me that I’m not one to truly appreciate museums so on my second day in Istanbul I decided to not bother going inside Aya Sofya and instead chose to visit Topkapi Palace Museum which was packed. Both places were 20TL entry each and my preference was Topkapi as I’m a fan of the 1964 film of the same name starring Peter Ustinov. You even get scanned on the way in which is presumably to stop anyone trying to repeat the antics of that movie. My tripod was taken away as a rule. My main goal was to see the Topkapi dagger which featured prominantly in the film. Locating this part of the place wasn’t easy as no map is given to visitors with the entry ticket which is very rare in this day and age.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

